Mental illness, marriage, dependency and divorce

photoThis week’s guest star on Mental Health Talk shares in a thought-provoking piece how he married in high school and through anxiety & depression, he found security in his wife.  The marriage falls apart and he has to learn to become independent.

An excerpt from Dave’s story:

Still my mental struggles plagued me. I ignored or avoided them. It’s only in hindsight do I realize the toll my peculiarities would wreak on my relationship. For example, I could not go into a restaurant and ask for a table. I was horrified of this. I always let her do the talking. Nor could I meet a service man at our house. Every vehicle we owned, she negotiated with the salesman, while I sat there, shy, introverted, afraid to speak. She paid every bill, managed every aspect financially – she was my crutch. I couldn’t make appointments over the phone for my kids, and was deathly scared of attending any and every kind of social event alone. As long as my wife was there, I would do okay. Even though it exhausted me, or made me a nervous wreck, I could put myself out there if I absolutely had too, as long as I had her.

To read the full story, please visit my official site at http://mentalhealthtalk.info/mental-illness-divorce.  While you are there, we would love to hear from you in the comments:

  1. Do you have any feedback on Dave’s post?
  2. About how your experience with mental health issues has affected your marriage/relationships.

If you don’t want to leave a comment then please check out that section anyway because there has been great contributions so far re this topic and Dave’s story.

See you over at MentalHealthTalk.info!

Love,
Trish

