From military to civilian; the mental health issues of an ex-solider

This week on Mental Health Talk, Russ writes that after spending 11 years in the British Army, he decides to leave.  As he tries to adjust to civilian life he finds himself unable to fit in.

An excerpt from Russ’ story:

It was a very awkward moment and one of my lowest points when one morning, years after I left, I suddenly realised I was no longer in the military.  I felt like I did not fit in anywhere. I was not in the forces anymore but felt that civilians were a waste of space and this lead to some self-hate as I was now a civilian.

To read Russ’ story, please visit: http://mentalhealthtalk.info/military-to-civilian.  While you are there, we would love to hear from you in the comments…

Has there been a time in your life where you had an identity crisis that led you to experience mental health issues?  What did you do?

Thank you.

Love,
Trish

