How to go from feeling misunderstood to building bridges

Cartoon-HiddenHowdy.

I wrote the MHT post this week which includes one of my cartoons (which I have included in this post but HID parts of the cartoon to intrigue you to come over the main MHT site…http://mentalhealthtalk.info/misunderstood).

It is based on my long time love affair with feeling misunderstood and how my passion helped me to understand my mental health better and as a result, turned on some of the people around me to acknowledge my 6 year (and counting) journey with PTSD.

Here’s a snippet…

How many times have you felt misunderstood?  Or did you give up counting a long time ago?

I think everyone feels misunderstood at times.  People make judgments, assess you from outward appearances, and have too much going on in their own lives to be present to your pain.

It forges a disconnection between you and them; them being everyone else in the world that is not going through a similar experience.  It’s not that you don’t want people to understand; you are just tired of the assumptions and the disappointment of not being heard.

Feeling misunderstood has been a big theme in my journey with Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).  It has been the main ingredient for me to create the reclusive life I live right now.

Oh yeah, I should probably mention my stubbornness too.

Feeling misunderstood is kind of lonely… and then you become a cat lady.

Please head over to the main Mental Health Talk site to read the rest of my story at: http://mentalhealthtalk.info/misunderstood.  And while you’re there, please leave a comment to let me know about your experience with feeling misunderstood.

Thanks for reading and happy weekend.

Love,
Trish

