I’m on a roll…

This is my second day in a row participating in National (Mental) Health Blog Month.  I’m on fire!

Write about a time you had to take the high road.

This is a tough one–I don’t think I’ve ever taken the high road.  I’m stubborn as hell.

I guess that’s not true–I am married. 🙂

I took the high road recently with my family doctor.  She was asked by the agency who I am filing for disability with to provide information for my case.

She didn’t.

They sent her a second notice and I followed up.

She still didn’t.

Last month I received a notice that I had been declined disability.  One of the reasons cited was:

Information was requested from your family doctor in letters dated Aprill7, and June 1, 2012, however as of today, no information has been received. The information currently on file indicates your treating psychiatrist retired in September 2011. There is no indication your care has been transferred to another psychiatrist for ongoing treatment and medication adjustment.

I was livid.  I had an appointment scheduled and I was going to give her a piece of my mind.

I didn’t.  It is her prerogative to disregard disability requests and it’s mine to find another doctor who understands my mental disorder.

Is that taking the high road?  Or did I just wuss out?

How about you?  When have you taken the high road?

