Bipolar disorder and highly sensitive people

Goldfinch by Rachel MillerWritten by Rachel Miller
Original artwork by Rachel Miller

Early Experiences

I’ve always felt like an outsider, so different to everybody else, like I had been dropped off on the wrong planet. Everyone around me, even at primary school, seemed so settled in the world, like living on Earth was the easiest and most natural thing. I felt alien.

I was prone to becoming overwhelmed by school, particularly being in large groups or in noisy environments. I was really sensitive to comments by other kids and how they perceived me and would get upset very easily. Anxiety was my constant companion throughout my school days and later became apparent in the workplace too…

This is a snippet from the new featured post at MentalHealthTalk.info.  Please visit http://mentalhealthtalk.info/bipolar_hsp to learn more about Rachel’s experience with biploar and high sensitivity and her research, as well as links to resources for bipolar, high sensitivity and empaths.  While you are there, please leave a comment because we would love to hear your feedback.  Thank you.

