Taking off my mask

Written by: Sara Goguen

Backstory

The first time I remember feeling depressed, I was around nine years old.

I can’t remember an exact instance, but I remember not wanting to participate in life activities – such as school and all of my extracurricular things, such as swimming, Girl Guides, piano lessons, playing with friends, etc.

I can distinctly remember my Mom asking me one day what was wrong. I felt so ashamed and I didn’t want her to keep asking, so I put a smile on my face and struggled through the day…

Sara from saratonin.co shares her story of taking off the mask concealing her depression and the surprising responses she received from others.  As usual, this is just a snippet of where the actual posts lives at http://mentalhealthtalk.info/masked-depression.  Please click on the link to read the rest of the post and I encourage you to share your experience with masks while you’re there.  Thank you.

